Our governing body

Contact Information:

Phone Number:
Fax Number:

Our Mission:

"In the best interests of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Board of Trustees shall exert the Tribes' sovereign authority to protect the rights reserved by the Treaty of 1855 and to promote the interests of the members and residents of the Umatilla Indian Reservation. The Board of Trustees shall exercise the authority of the Confederated Tribes so as to promote, enhance, and achieve the maximum degree of self-government, self-sufficiency, and self-determination in all Tribal affairs. Doing so objectively and ably is the abiding mission of the Board of Trustees of the Umatilla Indian Reservation."


Tribal affairs are governed by an elected body called the Board of Trustees, which is elected every two years by the voting membership, our General Council. Our BOT chairman presides over the Board, which consists of eight additional members (nine members total). The Board sets policy, makes the final decisions on tribal affairs, and takes a lead role in determining priority projects and issues. The Board conducts business meetings once a week (Mondays at 9 a.m., unless a holiday falls on that day), in addition to numerous work sessions with staff and special board meetings with external individuals and organizations.


The current Board of Trustees took office Nov. 29, 2017 will serve through November of 2019, when the next election will be held.


    Gary Burke, BOT Chairman                    


Jeremy Wolf, BOT Vice Chairman   

 Doris Wheeler, Treasurer


N. Kathryn Brigham, BOT Secretary


William Sigo IV, General Council Chair               



Aaron Ashley, Member at Large 


Sally Kosey, Member at Large


Rosenda ShippentowerMember At Large      




Woodrow Star, Member at Large






Related Document or Resource