

News Release

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation 46411 Timíne Way, Pendleton, OR 97801 Phone: 541-276-3165 Fax: 541-276-3095 www.ctuir.org

For immediate release: Nov. 14, 2023 Contact: Travis Snell, Public Relations Specialist, 541-429-7394

CTUIR Voters Elect 6 New Members, Keep 6 Incumbents

MISSION, Ore. – On Tuesday, Nov. 14, members of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) elected six new members and six incumbents to the Board of Trustees and General Council to lead the tribe for the next two years.

The CTUIR's governing body, the Board of Trustees will have four new members.

Gary I. Burke replaces N. Kathryn Brigham as BOT chair, while Aaron Ashley retained his seat as BOT vice chair.

Raymond Huesties will replace Sandra Sampson as BOT treasurer, while Roberta J. Wilson will replace Sally Kosey as BOT secretary. Three incumbent board members at large retained their seats: Toby Patrick, Corinne Sams and Lisa Ganuelas. Steven Hart was elected as the fourth board member at large.

Alan Crawford was elected the new General Council chair, defeating write-in candidate Boots Pond. Michael Ray Johnson retained his seat as General Council vice chair, and Martina Gordon won the General Council secretary seat as a write-in candidate. As for General Council interpreter, incumbent Thomas Morning Owl defeated Fred Hill Sr. Both were write-in candidates.

Pond, who is a BOT member at large, ran a write-in campaign for General Council chair after failing to properly file election paperwork for his at large seat. Also, current General Council Chair Lindsey X. Watchman did not seek re-election.

The elected officials take office Nov. 29 in a 9 a.m. ceremony at the Nixyáawii Governance Center. The public is invited to attend. Following are the unofficial election results showing the number of votes received. The winners are identified with an asterisk, in bold. The certified results will be completed in accordance with the Election Code.

<u>Board of Trustees Chair</u> * Gary I. Burke N. Kathryn Brigham	371 338
<u>Board of Trustees Vice Chai</u> * Aaron Ashley Kola Thompson	<u>r</u> 438 274
Board of Trustees Treasurer *Raymond Huesties Sandra Sampson	404 325

Board of Trustees Secretary *Roberta J. Wilson Sally Kosey	368 329
Board of Trustees Members / *Toby Patrick *Steven Hart *Corinne Sams *Lisa Ganuelas Matthew Farrow Jr. Linda A. Sampson Shawna Gavin David Wolf Jr. Cami Lewis Victor Bates Jesse Bevis Sr.	At Large 496 362 326 319 290 229 207 195 142 141 108
General Council Chair *Alan Crawford Boots Pond (Write-In)	395 254
General Council Vice Chair *Michael R. Johnson	633
<u>General Council Secretary</u> * Martina Gordon (Write-In) Shawna Gavin (Write-In)	125 44
General Council Interpreter * Thomas Morning Owl (WI) Fred Hill Sr. (Write-In)	177 65

The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation is comprised of the Cayuse, Umatilla, and Walla Walla Tribes, formed under the Treaty of 1855 at the Walla Walla Valley, 12 Stat. 945. In 1949, the Tribes adopted a constitutional form of government to protect, preserve and enhance the reserved treaty rights guaranteed under federal law.

###