

## **News Release**

## Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

46411 Timíne Way, Pendleton, OR 97801 Phone: 541-276-3165 Fax: 541-276-3095

www.ctuir.org

For immediate release: Nov. 21, 2023

Contact: Travis Snell, Public Relations Specialist, 541-429-7394

## CTUIR to Swear In Elected Officials on Nov. 29

MISSION, Ore. – The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) is inviting the public to the inauguration of its recently elected Board of Trustees and General Council officers at 9 a.m., Nov. 29 in the Nixyáawii Governance Center.

BOT officers being sworn in are Chair Gary I. Burke; Vice Chair Aaron Ashley; Treasurer Raymond Huesties; Secretary Roberta J. Wilson; and Members At Large Toby Patrick, Steven Hart, Corinne Sams and Lisa Ganuelas.

General Council officers taking their oaths are Chair Alan Crawford, Vice Chair Michael R. Johnson, Secretary Martina Gordon and Interpreter Thomas Morning Owl.

All officials were elected Nov. 14 during the tribe's general election.

CTUIR affairs are governed by the BOT, which is elected every two years by the voting membership or General Council. The BOT chairperson presides over the BOT, which consists of eight additional members (nine members total).

The BOT sets policy, makes final decisions on tribal affairs and takes a lead role in determining priority projects and issues. It conducts weekly business meetings (Mondays at 9 a.m.) in addition to work sessions with staff and special board meetings with external individuals and organizations.

The General Council also elects its officers whose primary responsibilities include running the monthly General Council meetings and moving forward General Council issues. It also hears updates from its chairperson, the BOT and various working groups. General Council members can also provide input and recommendations to tribal officials. General Council meetings are the third Thursday of each month.

The Nixyáawii Governance Center is at 46411 Timíne Way in Mission.

The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation is comprised of the Cayuse, Umatilla, and Walla Walla Tribes, formed under the Treaty of 1855 at the Walla Walla Valley, 12 Stat. 945. In 1949, the Tribes adopted a constitutional form of government to protect, preserve and enhance the reserved treaty rights guaranteed under federal law.

Caption: The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) is inviting the public to the inauguration of its recently elected Board of Trustees and General Council officers at 9 a.m., Nov. 29 in the Nixyáawii Governance Center. Whitney Minthorn/CTUIR