CTUIR Executive Director Resigns

on 4/29/2024 4:30:00 PM

MISSION – The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Board of Trustees (Board) voted unanimously to accept the resignation of Executive Director Donald Sampson at its April 29 meeting.

Sampson, who was not at the meeting, submitted his resignation April 12 with an effective date of May 10.

“We thank Don for all his time and service he dedicated to the CTUIR and its people,” Chairman Gary I. Burke said. “During his most current stint as executive director Don not only kept the departments performing at a high level, but he also contributed to the success of the tribe in areas such adoption of the Climate Adaptation Plan, ongoing housing projects and several other important Board priorities. We wish Don nothing but the best in his future endeavors.” 

Sampson, a CTUIR member, was hired as executive director on Dec. 1, 2021. He previously served as executive director from 2003 to 2010. Prior to that, he served as executive director of the Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission from 1998 to 2003 and was elected Board chairman for two terms from 1993 to 1997.

The Board named Deputy Executive Director J.D. Tovey, who is also a CTUIR member, as interim executive director effective May 11 and until a replacement is hired. Pursuant to the CTUIR Executive Management Policy, in the coming weeks the Board will appoint a committee to facilitate the advertising for an executive director and to collect and screen applications for consideration by the Board.

“I look forward to working with the Board of Trustees and Mr. Sampson to provide a smooth transition,” Tovey said. “The CTUIR has a lot of ongoing and very important projects and priorities, and I look forward to working with the CTUIR staff on completing them.”

As directed by the Board, the executive director has the authority and responsibility to implement the Board’s legislative actions and provide for the delivery of programs and services to tribal members and reservation residents on behalf of the Board. The executive director provides management oversight and supervision for all aspects of tribal government and administration.

The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation is comprised of the Cayuse, Umatilla and Walla Walla Tribes, and formed under the Treaty of 1855 at the Walla Walla Valley, 12 Stat. 945. In 1949, the Tribes adopted a constitutional form of government to protect, preserve and enhance the reserved treaty rights guaranteed under federal law.